Fixated – An Introduction

Welcome to the new series Fixated! I am overjoyed to have you here and pray that God will use this time of reading to draw you nearer to Himself. As always, I would like to thank everyone for their constant support. If it wasn’t for the kind words and encouragement I received from people all around, I don’t know that I would have been able to keep this whole thing up. So I hope I can continue to be a blessing to you, just as much as you have been a blessing to me, as we all grow together as followers of Christ.

At the beginning of this past summer, I was faced with a problem. Due to a number of different circumstances that I had gotten myself into, I was living in almost complete social isolation. I had been forced to break off several relationships that had come into conflict with my desire to walk with God, and, by the time all was said and done, I had nearly no one left other than my family and a few friends and mentors from the church.

Then, one day, I came across a verse in the 2 Timothy that tossed me into a world of confusion and questions. If I had been in any other situation, I doubt I would have even batted an eye in its direction, but due to my current struggle with social isolation, it hit me hard.

“So flee youthful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.”

2 Timothy 2:22 ESV

That verse sounded wonderful to me. That summed up exactly what I wanted to do. To pursue God alongside other people. People who I could encourage and be encouraged by. But I was totally alone. My former friends certainly were not calling on the Lord, and while I did have other people in my life who were strong Christians that I felt close to, the vast majority of them were closer to retirement age than they were mine. I desperately desired peers who were pursuing Jesus like I was and this verse augmented that feeling in my heart ten thousand times over.

Since that point during the summer, God has answered my prayers in more ways than I could have possibly imagined. I am now up to my knees in other people who love Jesus and desire to pursue Him. But during the time of waiting for God to answer my prayers for a community, He taught me some incredible lessons that completely reshaped the way I see relationships today. Through this series, it is my goal to communicate the truths God has shown me over these past several months. So join us as we take a look at what it means to be intimately interwoven into inseparable unity. First with God—and then with others.

With the love and fulfillment found in Christ,

Jon Hastings

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Matthew 6:33 ESV


Part 2 →

One thought on “Fixated – An Introduction

Leave a Reply

